The month of February is devoted to winter austerities in Japan. This series of posts, one for each day of the month, expresses ways of integrating more fully into life, of feeling true and lasting happiness, contentment, and recognising your special mission in this short human life in the year ahead.

Divine Thread

look no further 1The light of day comes and it goes from my personal theatre. Objects and people come and they go, they wax and wane, as I watch from the gallery. This appearance and evanescence can affect me in two ways, but I am free to choose only one of them.

Either I can swallow the beauty I see as it glimmers and gurgles, calmly enjoying, marveling, weeping, smiling in the centre of the moment, and moving smoothly without flinching on to the next to supersede. I look and listen in absolute trust at these arisings and descendings because I know and accept that they are finite, that they will run only for a limited number of seasons. My indestructible essence of love is the lubricant which brought me to the theatre and will convey me back to the ether high above the lit streets.

Alternatively, I can hold the beauty in…

View original post 449 more words

